As the program initially boots up, the software will ask you to either select an existing project or create a new one. This is what you should do if you establish a new project:
When the New Project dialogue box opens and prompts you, do these steps:
- Video Format: Choose “Frames,” which is a good option for animators
- Location: Select your project folder on one of the following:
- Macintosh > Movies
- Windows > Scratch Disk
- Name: Go to > Location > Browse for your folder on the Local Drive and choose Your Project Folder
- Name: Give the project a short, one-word name, such as <yourname_shortproj>
Press OK.
Create a new Premiere Sequence
You will have to choose a Sequence Preset. There are many options, depending on the nature of the project, type of camera, and final output. Make sure you use the right one.
For a basic animation-based piece
Referring to the Main Menu, go to File > New > Sequence. From the New Sequence Window, select:
- ARRI > 1080p > ARRI 1080p 24
This has all the important settings you will need.
General:
- Timebase: 24.00 fps (frames per second)
- Video Settings:
- Frame size: 1920v (horizontal) x 1080v (vertical) – this is what “1080” in “1080p” stands for
- Frame rate: 24 frames/second
- Pixel Aspect Ratio: Square Pixels (1.0)
- Fields: No Fields (Progressive Scan) – this is what “p” in “1080p” stands for
- Audio Settings:
- Sample rate: 48000 samples/second
Note
When you refer to the Premiere Interface and look at the Timeline, you might notice that the Frame Rate Settings are still “Timecode” and not “Frames.” Go to the Project Window, right-click on “Sequence 01” and choose Sequence Settings > Video > Display Format > Frames.
Choose a suitable workspace
Go to the Main Menu > Window > Workspace and choose “Effects” or “Editing.” Such a layout will organize the various windows and palettes you will need to produce an animation-based project.
Links to information and processes with Adobe Premiere Pro
- Project Folder Preparations
- Premiere Project Settings
- To Establish a Premiere Project
- To Prepare to Import Image Files
- Importing Images: Both Stills & Sequences
- To Interpret Footage
- To Scale Images & Footage
- To Add a Colour Matte
- Effects Controls
- Using Keyframes
- To Change the Scale & Position of Images & Sequences Compositionally
- To Make Tonal Adjustments using Levels
- Colour Correction
- Applying a Colour Key
- Exporting Media Files
- The Basics of Sound Editing with Adobe Premiere
- To Tap a Beat
- Adding Footsteps to an Animated Character and Assigning the Sound to a Sub-Mix
- To Export Audio Clips
< Back to the Home Page | Martin Rose’s Animation & Media Notes