After Effects & Premiere, Importing Images, Stills and Sequences

Set the duration of still images

When you import still images and sequential images, like drawings on paper or “flimsies,” you will need to ensure the settings for still images align with your intentions for production. 

The following notes relate to both Adobe After Effects and Premiere.

You can easily change the duration of still images, and you might do so a few times with a given project. Nonetheless, you will have to make sure its correct before you import images in this case and check the software preferences.

After Effects

    • Apple OS: Referring to the Main Menu, go to After Effects > Preferences > Import > Still Footage:
    • Windows: Referring to the Main Menu, go to Edit > Preferences > Import > Still Image Default Duration Still Footage:
      • Enter [0:00:00:01] for “single-frame or 24 fps” or [0:00:00:02] for “double frame of 12 fps” and so on.
      • Press OK.

Premiere

    • Apple OS: Referring to the Main Menu, go to Premiere Pro > Preferences > Timeline > Still Image Default Duration.
    • Windows: Referring to the Main Menu, go to Edit > Preferences > Timeline > Still Image Default Duration.
    • Enter the correct value:
      • “2 frames,” if you intend to utilize single image files as double frames at 12 images per second
      • “1 frame,” if you intend to utilize single image files as single frames at 24 images per second
To import an image sequence

The procedures for After Effects and Premiere are very similar. There is one small difference, with the first step. Referring to the Main Menu, go to:

    • After Effects: File > Import > File
    • Premiere: File > Import

An “Import File” dialogue box will then open.

Look at the folder where the Image Sequence is located (properly situated in a project folder that you have organized beforehand), click on the first image in the sequence. When you have selected it, look down to the lower part of the Import Window to “Numbered Stills” and activate the check box. You might have to first click the Options button to open the lower part of the window with this feature.

Then, press Open.

Very important! Essential!

After importing the sequence, you will have to adjust the frame rate and “interpret” the footage. This will designate the appropriate frame rate for the movement phrase. Otherwise, the software uses a default, which is typically for video (30 fps) and not for animation or created motion.

The process is simple, involving just one or two basic steps. Information about interpreting footage is on an additional page; the link his here.

To import a single still image

Beforehand, it will be important to refer to the “set the duration of still images” section at the top of this document.

Go to File > Import and “look in” a folder location to locate the image (that is, your Project Folder / Images). Click on the file name and then press Open. From the Import Layered File dialogue box, select the following:

    • Import As: Footage
    • Layer Options: Choose “Merged Layers”

Press OK. The software will then add the image to your Project Window. You can then drag the image onto Timeline.

To set the duration of still images before you import them

Beforehand, it will be important to refer to the “set the duration of still images” section at the top of this document.

Similarly, the section on “interpreting footage” is also essential. A link to further information is here.

As you are generally used to working with double-frame animation, you might want to import files as double-frame images.

To change the duration of images in the Timeline

Depending on the software you are using, there is a simple way to change the duration of an image is to select the clip/image in the Timeline and then and right click on the layer/clip and choose:

    • After Effects: Time > Time Stretch. Choose Stretch Factor and type in a new value (such as “00;03;00” or “72 frames”) and then press OK.
    • Premiere: Speed/Duration. Choose duration and type in a new value (such as “00;03;00” or “72 frames”) and then press OK.

You can also do this by clicking on the right- or left-hand edge of the file. These are also known In-Point and Out-Point of the file. While holding down the mouse button, drag the edge of the clip to the left or right. This will either expand or contract the length/duration of the clip.

This particular method only works for a still image though. The procedure is not for a movie or imported image sequence. Instead, to change the duration/speed of a movie, use:

    • After Effects: Time > Time Stretch. Choose Speed (“100%” for current; “50%” for twice as fast; “200% for half the speed; and so on) and then press OK.
    • Premiere: Speed/Duration. Choose Speed (“100%” for current; “50%” for twice as fast; “200% for half the speed; and so on) and then press OK.

However, doing so will affect the tempo of the phrase and animation you have created.

To create an image sequence from multiple images

This method is specific to After Effects.

There is another method that you can use to create an image sequence. This particular way works well if you want to work specifically with double-frame animation. Furthermore, you can edit the duration of individual images and arrange them in a timeline, to reflect the varied timing (that is, to assemble double- and single-frame sequences, plus longer holds).

Refer to the notes above about “setting durations for still images.”

Import a group of images

Different from importing an image sequence (documented above), this time, you will import a group of images. Because you have set the still image duration to “2 frames” or “00:00:02,” the images will come into the AE Project Window as individual images that are two frames in length (as opposed to the “Length of Composition”).

    • Go to File > Import. Locate the files you would like to import and select them all, by clicking on the first image in the sequence and, while holding down the Shift Key, choose the last image in the sequence.
    • Import as “Footage.”
    • Wait! Do not choose “Image Sequence.” This is different than importing an image sequence.
    • Click Open.

After Effects will add the images to the Project Window. To better organize the Project Window, you should place them in a folder in the Project Window (that is, go to File > New Folder or click on the “Create New Folder” button at the bottom edge of the Project Window). Name the folder “Image Sequence,” for example.

Add the Images to a Composition

You will have to add the image sequence to a composition. Doing so will be easier if the images are already organized in a folder in the Project Window.

Go to the Main Menu and choose Composition > New Composition. From there, give it a “Composition Name;” then, referring to the “Basic” settings, choose the following (using Standard Resolution as an example):

    • Composition Name: Give the composition an appropriate name
    • Preset: HDTV 1080 24
    • Width: 1920
    • Height: 1080
    • Pixel Aspect Ratio: Square Pixels
    • Frame Rate: 24
    • Resolution: Full
    • Start Frame: 0000
    • Duration: Enter a value of “x” frames @ 24 fps

Click 0K.

To add the sequence to the composition, simply drag the folder into the Timeline.

Or, if there is a specific order you want to follow, you can add them to the Timeline, layer by layer.

Place each layer at Frame 0 for now.

If the images are meant to have distinct timing, make those adjustments. 

There are notes about timing still images in the page above. Refer to the heading “To change the duration of images in the Timeline.”

Sequence the Layers

Once you’ve added the collection of layers to a composition, you will want to “sequence the layers:”

After you have dragged the folder of images into the Timeline, you should deselect them and start fresh (i.e., Main Menu > Edit > Deselect All). Otherwise the order of layers might end up in reverse order. Click on the first layer, to be certain that it will be first in the sequence, and then, while holding down the Shift Key at the same time, click on the last layer, to select them all.

Referring to the main menu, go to Animation > Keyframe Assistant > Sequence Layers.

In the Sequence Layers dialogue box, deselect “Overlap.” By doing so, After Effects will arrange the images one after the other along the Timeline.

Press OK.