After importing an image sequence, you will have to adjust the frame rate and “interpret” the footage. This will designate the appropriate frame rate for the movement phrase. Otherwise, the software uses a default, which is typically for video (30 fps) and not for animation or created motion.
This step will allow you to convert an image sequence to 24, 15, or 12 frames per second.
If you are using After Effects in particular, you will be able to turn the sequence into a repeating loop (for a walk cycle for example).
The process is simple, involving just one or two basic steps.
When you have imported an image sequence, the segment will be listed in the Project Window, whether it is After Effects or Premiere. Both programs do the same thing. You will have to instruct the software about the frame rate by “interpreting” the footage.
Locate the image sequence in the Project Window, right-click on the icon and choose:
- After Effects: Interpret Footage > Main
- Premiere: Modify > Interpret Footage
Continuing on, the processes with both After Effects and Premiere are pretty much the same.
From the Modify Clip window, under Frame Rate, choose “Assume this frame rate” and enter either 12 or 24 fps. In many instances, you will animate at 12 images per second, “on twos.” That is, double-frame at 24 frames per second. However, with capture software like Dragonframe, you can playback at 12, therefore 12 fps. If you specifically choose to record and playback singles at 24 fps, enter 24.
If you wish, you can import and interpret at both 12 and 24. This will give you two kinds of tempo to create with.
After Effects in particular
Again, this step will allow you to convert an image sequence to 24, 15, or 12 frames per second. In addition, you will be able to turn the sequence into a repeating loop (for a walk cycle for example).
Once you have imported an image sequence to the project, After Effects will store the footage in the Project Window. To Interpret the Footage — or, to change the duration of the sequence or loop the images — you should do one of two things.
First of all, referring to the Project Window, click on the footage icon and go to File > Interpret Footage > Main. Or, similarly, to activate the dialogue box, right-click on the icon and go to File > Interpret Footage > Main.
Under the Interpret Footage options, you should select the following:
- Alpha: Choose “Straight – Unmatted”
- Frame Rate: “Assume the frame rate” is 24 frames per second (single-frame animation) or 12 frames per second (double-frame animation)
The other Options to consider are:
- Pixel Aspect Ratio: Choose “Square Pixels”
When Interpreting Footage, Choose Loop to Create Cycles
A very useful option that After Effects offers is to “loop” image sequences. This will allow you to repeat sequences. For example, the loop feature works well for treadmill walk cycles.
- First, import an image sequence, such as a treadmill walk cycle.
- Once you have imported the sequence, in the Project Window, right-click on the sequence icon and Interpret Footage > Main.
- After you have set the frame rate, go to the lower section of the Interpret Footage Dialogue Box and choose Other Options > Loop:
- Loop: Choose a large amount of times you would like to the cycle to repeat. For instance, to make a 10 second walk cycle, the software should repeat the character’s steps 20 times.